Front-runner in aesthetic high technology gel coats
iso
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Hybrathan

WeatherGuard_med

PrintShield_med

Frequently Asked Questions

Why is Sogel considered the specialist in innovation and development of high technology gel coats?

Sogel benefits from the exceptional expertise of Claude Pilon, a leading chemist who has developed some of the most innovating gel coats in the market. For instance, we develop exclusive gel coats for the RTM and Twintex® technologies. Moreover, we manufacture spray adhesive putties and spray granite gel coats, among others. If you have a challenging project, we can help you. Please contact us.

What advantages does Sogel offer over its competitors?

We always make sure to analyse our customers’ needs in depth and we innovate, develop and manufacture customised gel coats accordingly. Moreover, we deliver products and services on short period of time.

Who are yours clients?

Our client base is very diversified. We serve clients with very high quality and innovation standards, such Camoplast/Bombardier Recreational Products. We also serve clients operating in different industries, such as transportation (Fibrocap and Group Synergy Composites) and construction (Piscine Fibro).    

What is a gel coat?

A gel coat is a specialized polyester or vinyl ester resin that is formulated as an in-mold coating. This coating provides a cosmetic outer surface on a composite product and offers weatherability for outdoor products.

What is the WeatherGuard™ gel coat?

TheWeatherGuard™ gel coat consists of a base of special polymer resins mixed with very high quality pigments and special additives that provide optimal processability and superior performance.

What is a PrintShield™ barrier coat?

PrintShield™ acts as a barrier coat between the laminate and the gel coat. This product enhances the gel coats’ mechanical properties by increasing its flexibility. It also improves the esthetical properties by increasing resistance to osmosis and blistering, and reducing print through. 

What molding processes is the PrintShieldbarrier coat suggested for?

We suggest the application of PrintShield barrier coat in both open molding, closed molding and RTM processes. In open molding, the barrier coat improves esthetical properties, increases resistance to blistering and decreases production cost. In closed molding and RTM, the barrier coat provides a drastic reduction of print through, in addition to the above benefits.

What type of catalyst do you suggest be used with your gel coats?

Sogel suggests between 1.5% and 2% of DHD – 9, or any MEKP (50%).

What is the shelf life of Sogel’s products?

Sogel guarantees a shelf life of 90 days for all products from the date of manufacture.

What is the minimum volume for an order?

The minimum order is of 5 gallons.

Who do I contact for technical support?

Our technical staff is available Monday through Friday, from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM eastern time. We can be contacted by phone (450) 928-3833, (866) 928-3883 or via e-mail This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Le spécialiste en gelcoats de haute technologie
iso
Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Hybrathan

WeatherGuard_med

PrintShield_med

Foire Aux Questions

Pourquoi Sogel est-il reconnu comme le spécialiste au niveau de la formulation et du développement de gelcoats de haute technologie?

Sogel bénéficie de l’expertise exceptionnelle de M. Claude Pilon, un chimiste reconnu qui a développé des gelcoats très innovateurs. Par exemple, Sogel fabrique des gelcoats conçus exclusivement pour les technologies RTM et Twintex®, ainsi que des gelcoats granite pulvérisables et des mastics adhésifs pulvérisables. Si vous avez un projet qui sort de l’ordinaire, Sogel est votre solution. Contactez nous.

Quels sont les avantages que Sogel offre par rapport aux concurrents?

Nous prenons soin de bien analyser les besoins de nos clients, puis nous innovons, développons et produisons des gelcoats sur mesure. De plus, nous livrons et répondons aux besoins dans les délais les plus brefs.

Qui sont vos clients?

Notre clientèle est très diversifiée. Nous servons des clients ayant des exigences très spécifiques tels que Camoplast / Bombardier Recreational Products. Nous avons aussi une base de clients opérant dans plusieurs secteurs tels que les transports (Fibrocap) et la construction (Piscine Fibro).  

Qu’est-ce qu’un gelcoat ?

Les gelcoats sont des résines polyester ou vinyl ester non saturées. En s’appliquant au moulage dans un état liquide, ils assurent aux produits en fibre de verre un revêtement de surface esthétique et une résistance aux intempéries. 

Qu’est-ce que le gelcoat WeatherGuard™?

Le gelcoat WeatherGuard™ est formulé à partir d’une résine polyester, des matières premières, des pigments et des additifs spéciaux qui procurent une processabilité optimale et une performance supérieure.

Qu’est-ce que la couche barrière PrintShield™?

La couche barrière PrintShield™ agit comme une barrière entre le laminé et le gelcoat. Ce produit améliore les propriétés mécaniques du gelcoat en augmentant sa flexibilité. Il contribue à améliorer les propriétés esthétiques liées à la télégraphie, à l’osmose et aux boursouflures.

Dans quels procédés la couche barrière PrintShield™ est-elle utile ?

Nous suggérons l’utilisation de la couche barrière PrintShieldTM dans les procédés en moule ouvert,  moule fermé et RTM. En moule ouvert, la couche barrière procure une résistance à l’impact et aux boursouflures, améliore l’esthétique et réduit les coûts de production. En moule fermé et RTM, la couche barrière procure les mêmes bénéfices tout en réduisant drastiquement les problèmes de marquage.

Quel type de catalyseur est suggéré pour les gelcoats de Sogel? 

Sogel suggère entre 1.5% et 2% de DHD – 9, ou un MEKP de 50%.

Quelle est la vie tablette des produits de Sogel ?

Nous garantissons nos produits 90 jours.

Quel est le volume de commande minimum?
 
Le volume de commande minimum est de 5 gallons.

Comment contacter les services de soutient technique ?

Notre équipe est disponible du lundi au vendredi, entre 8h et 16h. Par téléphone (450) 928-3883 et (866) 928-3883, ou par courriel Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir.